50 Years (4)

Sunday, 18 October 2015 14:41

Anniversary Event Report

Written by

Well done to all the athletes and their parents who were involved in this event both competing and officiating. The full results are attached.


The U17 Women’s event was won by experienced heptathlete, Molly Newton O’Brien. Abigail Routledge took the silver position with a new best distance of 3.65m in the Long Jump.

A rapidly maturing U17 Man Dominic O’Garrow took the trophy with PBs in the Long Jump (5.07m), 200m (27.3), HJ(1.45m) and SP(8m). Newcomer Isaac Weber was a worthy runner up competing in all five events for the first time and recording scores of (4.14m)Long Jump, 200m (24.8), High Jump (1.25m) and Shot Putt (6.47m).

Multi eventer U15 Girl, Grace Wakeman, was in her element taking the trophy with PBs in both the shot(5.22) and the Long Jump (4.34m). Second place went to Hannah Bale who produced a new best distance in the Long Jump (4.34m). Newcomber Candice Craven took the bronze. Laura Wilson demonstrated her all round abilities with PBs in the Shot Putt (4.87), the Long Jump(2.70m) and the 800m (3:05).

The U15 Boy’s category was won by Henry Connelly (PBs in 80mH, SP. LJ, 200). Jack Casson took the silver spot with a new best distance in the Long Jump. Other PBs were achieved by E Elliott (80mH, SP, LJ, 200),

Temi Mustapha (PBs in 70mH, HJ, LJ, 80m) took the U13Girls’ trophy. Eleven year old Holly Halton took the silver with new best times in the 70mH, SP. HJ, LJ,80m. Other PBs were achieved by F Burgess (70mH, SP, HJ, LJ,), S Parkinson (70mH, SP, HJ, LJ, 80m), H Satterly (70mH, SP, HJ, 80m), L Elliott (70mH, SP, HJ, LJ, 80m), M Hinnigan (70mH, HJ, 80m), L Sim (70mH, SP, HJ, LJ, 80m), A Bennett, E Collins (70mH, SP, LJ,), M Wilson (70mH, 800m), E Grogan (70mH, SP, LJ) &
M Stoiner (SP, HJ, LJ).

Pavle Visak (PBs in 75mH, SP, HJ, LJ) should be pleased with his win in a very competitive U13 boys’ event. Not competing in the hurdles relegated Jack Tipler to the silver medal position, nevertheless he achieved PBs in SP, HJ & LJ. Other PBs were achieved by J Garwood (75mH, SP, HJ, LJ), E Gill (75mH, SP, HJ), J Newton (75mH, 800), O Stanley (75mH, SP, HJ), T Dowthwaite (SP, LJ) , W McGhie (75mH, SP, 800), A Blessington (SP, LJ) & F Weber (LJ, 800).

A hard working Kirsty Maher (PB in LJ) won the U11 Girl’s competition. Despite an outstanding cricket ball throw Emily Sim had to settle for the silver with PBs in the Long Jump & 80m. L Routledge (LJ, 80), T Cooper (LJ, 80), M Crawford (LJ, 80), M Brayshaw (LJ), C Haines (LJ) & K Burgess (LJ) all recorded PBs.

Charlie Marshall (PB in LJ) won the U11 boys. Also producing PBs were A Honeysett (LJ), R Maher (LJ), G Weber (LJ), J Grogan (LJ), J Preston (LJ), S Freeman (LJ), J Halbard (LJ), A Preston (LJ), C Barker (LJ) & Z Earnshaw (LJ).

To celebrate the 50 years we also held a 50 lap event round the athletic track. Club members signed up to run on lap at a time (some ran with a friend) and a gold batton was carried. We started with one of our younger members and to finish all club members who were present returned to the track for the 50th lap with one of our founder members Arnold Bibby. A video of this can be seen on our facebook page.

Finally the seniors members took part in our club championship race The Lancaster Races Series 5K. 1st male for club was William Onek in 15.55 while 1st lady was Jayne Perry who came home in 19.05. A full list of results can be found here


Sunday, 18 October 2015 14:28

Anniversary Photos

Written by

The club photos taken by Gary Hill are now available.

Saturday, 12 September 2015 15:36

50 years of history

Written by

In 1962 two clubs merged. Primrose Athletic club and Lunesdale AC.

Wednesday, 09 September 2015 20:59

Anniversary T -shirt

Written by

The 50th anniversary commerative t- shirt as designed by Kirsty Maher is now available from the club house.



It is a technical type t shirt ideal for training in or racing if its bit too cold for a vest and comes in range of adult and junior sizes (including ladies fitting) at bargain of just £10.00.  Ask at club house to get yours now - initial stocks are limited - but should we run out leave us your details and when we get few more orders we will re-order.

Kirsty was winner of recent competition to design the t-shirt and won a voucher from the runners centre - Lancaster for this.  Thank you very much for your donation towards the prize.